你的孩子有牙科焦虑症吗?

Blog

你的孩子有牙科焦虑症吗?

child covering mouth and hiding under pillows

对于许多孩子来说,“牙医”并不在他们喜爱的名单上。尤其是喜欢吃冰淇淋和糖果的孩子们。在Whitehorse Dental 我们特别看重牙齿保健,通常给孩子们看牙的时候,牙医能够让孩子保持着天真快乐的情绪。我们通过给孩子建立正面的看牙经历,让孩子们在很小的时候,就拥有良好的牙齿保健习惯。

鼓励有蛀牙的小孩要及时补牙,有其他牙科问题的小朋友们,如果需要治疗的话,应该尽早接受治疗,这的确不是一件容易的事。有些小孩年龄较小,语言交流也不通畅,长时间坐在牙科诊疗椅上不动,那更是困难重重。在诊疗过程中,戳来戳去的感觉,也让父母感到不安。此外,年幼的孩子也只能应付非常轻微的不适。所有这些都使得给儿童看牙,变得非常有挑战性,同时也让孩子们感到恐惧。

以上种种困难导致许多孩子怕看牙医。不想看牙医,不接受应有的牙科治疗,对孩子的健康是有害的。令人震惊的是,几乎一半的澳洲孩子在12岁以前就开始蛀牙

我们真的需要治疗乳牙吗?

无论如何乳牙都会掉的,那有什么好担心的呢?

不幸的是,我们看到很多2-3岁的小孩子都有蛀牙。但是许多父母直到孩子们11-12岁左右,才意识到靠后的乳牙是不会自然脱落的。因此,如果不及时治疗,年幼时的蛀牙会一直损害孩子们的口腔健康。这可能会对正在发育的成人牙齿带来感染,疼痛和损害。

蛀牙是完全可以预防的。这就是为什么我们一直都在强调预防与保健的理念,把鼓励孩子们,不害怕牙科保健,作为我们的首要目的。我们通过提供给孩子们舒适的看牙体验,来达成这一目的。即使是最严重的蛀牙,也可以用温和的方式治疗。通过无痛的看牙体验,我们希望减轻孩子们的牙科焦虑症。

如果您的孩子害怕牙医,这里有3个方法可以帮助您:

1. 儿童无钻牙科治疗
有牙科焦虑症的孩子们,特别适合我们的儿童无钻牙科治疗【无钻牙科治疗链接】。整个诊疗过程快速,无创,且无需全身麻醉。最大的优势是让孩子们不需要长时间坐在诊疗椅上,不需要打针和钻牙。

如果您的孩子需要补牙,请和我们在Blackburn的牙科诊所预约,看看是否适合儿童无钻牙科治疗。儿童无钻牙科治疗的诊疗过程,正如它的名字一样,不需要钻牙, 因此没有可怕的钻牙声。我们用一种特殊的液体药物涂抹在蛀牙上治疗龋齿。不需要钻牙,所以对于害怕牙医的小朋友来说,这种治疗方法更温和有效。

2.温柔的牙医
在Whitehorse牙科诊所,我们提供关怀和高度个性化的服务。我们对待每个客人就像对待我们的家人一样。我们经验丰富的牙医,温和地对待每一位客人,确保您的每一次光临,都尽可能的舒适。作为一个家庭式的牙科诊所,我们在和小孩子打交道方面,经验非常丰富,有各种交流技巧,可以确保孩子们有愉快的看牙体验。

3.友好的环境
我们诊疗室的天花板上安装了电视,您的孩子在诊疗过程中,可以专注于电视节目。孩子特别喜欢这点!当然如果他们喜欢听音乐,我们也可以在诊疗过程中,播放指定的音乐。总之,我们尽全力为孩子们营造一个舒适平静的牙科诊疗空间。

马上预约友好的牙科医生

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Does Your Child Have Dental Anxiety?

Blog

Does Your Child Have Dental Anxiety?

child covering mouth and hiding under pillows

The dentist is not on the “favourites” list of many children. Particularly when their favourites are ice-cream and lollies! Here at Whitehorse Dental, we have a heavy focus on prevention, so kids can be kids while also taking care of their teeth. We aim to achieve this by instilling a positive experience at the dentist. That way our littlest patients can build great dental habits starting from a young age.

However, encouraging young kids who require major treatments for cavities and tooth decay can be a tough ask. The sights, sounds and smells of a dentist can be unsettling, particularly if the child is too young to reason with words. It can be hard to sit still for so long, and the poking and prodding can feel disconcerting. Furthermore, very young children can cope with only very minimal discomfort. For these reasons, many kids develop dental anxiety and avoid going to the dentist. But avoiding the dentist is affecting children’s health. Shockingly, almost half of Australian kids are getting dental decay by the age of 12.

 

Do we really need to treat baby teeth?

Baby teeth will fall out anyway, so what’s the big concern?

Unfortunately, we see kids as young as 2-3 years old with decayed teeth. Many parents don’t realise that back baby teeth don’t naturally fall out until around age 11-12. Therefore, if left untreated, tooth decay in toddlers can wreak havoc for many years. As a result, untreated tooth decay can lead to infections, pain and damage to the developing adult tooth.

What’s most concerning? Dental decay is completely preventable. That’s why we’ve made it our number one priority to encourage kids that dental care is nothing to fear. We do this by making dentistry comfortable and easy for children. Even the most severe cases of cavities can be treated in a gentle way. In contrast, by making dentist trips painless, we hope to ease any dental anxiety your child might feel.

If your child is scared of the dentist, here’s 3 ways we can help:

1. No-drill dentistry

Children with anxiety may be eligible for our no-drill dental treatments. Treatments are quick, non-invasive and avoid any need to undergo general anaesthetic. The best thing is: kids don’t need to sit in the dentist’s chair for long periods of time and there are no needles or drilling. Sounds like a dream!

If your child needs a filling, book in to our dental clinic in Blackburn to see if no-drill dentistry is suitable. As the name suggests, it doesn’t involve a drill, and therefore, there are no frightening whirring sounds. Instead, a liquid treatment is applied to treat the tooth decay. With no need for drilling, it’s gentle for young children who may be afraid of the dentist.

2. Gentle dentists

At Whitehorse Dental, we deliver a caring and highly personalised service. In that, we treat each patient like we would treat our own family members. Our highly experienced dentists have a gentle demeanour and patience to make procedures as comfortable as possible. Being a family practice, we’re experienced with children’s dentistry and use various techniques to ensure they always a positive visit.

3. Child-friendly spaces

Additionally, our treatment rooms have a TV installed on the ceiling to keep your child distracted in the dentist chair as we work. Kids just love this! Also, they have the option to choose their own music to play during their appointment. So much so, we’ve taken every care to make our practice a comfy and calm space for our littlest patients.

Book online today for child-friendly dentistry.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This