智齿的入门知识:为什么要拔智齿? | Whitehorse Dental

Blog

智齿的入门知识:为什么要拔智齿?

智齿的入门知识:为什么要拔智齿?

一提到智慧齿,很多人都会感到害怕。今天我们在这里为您解答拔除智慧齿的来龙去脉。为您提供专业的口腔资讯,以便您在未来的牙科护理中作出明智的选择!

拔智齿对于年轻人来说,是一种常见的牙科手术,但并不是每个人都需要这个手术。在这里,我们将解释究竟什么是智慧齿,为什么有些人需要拔掉它,有些幸运儿则能免受拔牙之苦呢?

到底智慧齿是什么?

智齿通常位于我们的口腔深处。牙医称之为第三臼齿。

此类牙齿的生长轨迹是因人而异的。有的人的智齿生长良好,能与口腔中的其他牙齿一样,长得完美对齐;而有的人智齿生长的角度五花八门,导致食物残渣难以被清除,容易引起感染,甚至危害到邻近的牙齿。有的人甚至天生就没有智齿!

无论智齿有没有为您带来任何困扰,我们都强烈建议,所有成年人,都要定期检查他们的智齿状况。最简单快捷的方式,就是采用X光。X光能够清晰地探测智齿的位置和形状,方便我们专业医生,准确地判断您的智齿是否健康和安全,并为您制定最适合的处理方案。

在Whitehorse Dental,我们提供全面的牙科检查,其中就包括了智齿的检查。请立即上网预约您的检查吧!

为什么有的人智齿需要拔除?

在科学家和牙科专家当中,流传着这样一种假设:智齿是人类进化进程中的淘汰者。

我们以猩猩和猿猴类动物为例,它们的下颚中,越到口腔深处,臼齿体积越大。在自然界中,智齿(第三臼齿)是体积最大的牙齿,便于动物咀嚼粗糙的生肉。

然而对人类而言,第三臼齿是我们口腔中体积最小的臼齿。猿猴和猩猩主要食物是粗粮、坚果和昆虫,与它们的食物相比,我们现代人的食物,当然柔软细致很多。这意味着我们将不再依赖第三臼齿,来咀嚼粗糙的食物。随着时间的推移与进化,臼齿的体积变得越来越小,有些人甚至不再生长智齿!

当人类适应了柔软的食物,我们的下颚长度会缩短,并导致下颚中的牙齿,缺少了生长的空间,也就出现了智齿横向生长的情况,或根本无法生长。即便智齿没有生长出来,并不代表它不存在,它们通常卡在口腔骨骼或牙龈下方。肉眼看不到的智齿,其实隐藏在我们的口腔当中!

这样的情况会使人们疏于检查和拔除,直到情况十分恶化。为什么人们要等到如此痛苦才采取行动呢?我们的建议是:应该在出现任何不适之前,就要尽早把问题处理好。

是不是每个人都需要拔除智齿?

并不是的!有些幸运儿,智齿生长良好,角度整齐,而且位置易于清洁。这些人能保留智齿!为了确保智齿保持健康的最佳状态,刷牙时一定要清洁到位。

若您的智齿不需要被拔除,我们专业的牙医一定会明确地告知您。同时,我们还会教您如何保持智齿清洁,以确保将来它们不会危害您的口腔。

判断和分析智齿生长轨迹的最佳方法,是通过全面的牙科检查。在Whitehorse Dental,我们建议患者采取这样的预防性方式,来了解智齿,而不是对智齿采用“边走边看”的敷衍态度。我们不希望看到患者遭受痛苦,尤其是这些痛苦本来就可以避免的,所以,既快速又专业的口腔检查,会为您提供所需的答案。

远离口腔痛苦,今天就联系Whitehorse Dental吧!采用预防性的口腔保健方式,去了解您的智齿吧

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Wisdom Teeth 101: Why Do Wisdom Teeth Get Removed? | Whitehorse Dental

Blog

Wisdom Teeth 101: Why Do Wisdom Teeth Get Removed?

Wisdom Teeth 101: Why Do Wisdom Teeth Get Removed?

The mention of wisdom teeth may send some into fearful panic, but we’re here to explain the ins and outs of wisdom teeth removal. Giving you all the info you need will help you make an informed decision on your wisdom teeth!

While wisdom teeth removal is a very common dental procedure for young adults, not everyone needs to have their wisdom teeth out. Here, we explain what exactly are wisdom teeth, why some people need to have them removed and why some lucky ones get to keep theirs in.

 

What exactly are wisdom teeth?

Wisdom teeth are usually located at the very back of our mouths. Dentists refer to them as 3rd molars.

These teeth can present very differently across various people. In some people, they may grow out perfectly fine and well aligned, whereas for other people it may grow at nasty angles causing food impaction, infection and damaging to the neighboring teeth. There are even people who naturally have NO wisdom teeth!

Whether or not they’re giving you any trouble, we highly recommend that all adults get their wisdom teeth checked out. The easiest way to do this is with an X-ray. X-rays allow us to see the entire wisdom tooth, regardless if they’re hiding underneath your gums. From your X-ray, our dentists can assess how healthy your wisdom teeth are and analyse the options that are right for you.

All comprehensive dental examinations at Whitehorse Dental include a wisdom teeth assessment. Book your appointment online with us today!

 

Why do wisdom teeth need to be removed?

There’s a common hypothesis among scientists and dentists that wisdom teeth are on their way out in terms of human evolution.

An example to illustrate this is looking at gorillas and monkeys. The further back you go in their jaws, the bigger the molar teeth get. Therefore in nature, wisdom teeth (the 3rd molars) are the largest teeth. This allows animals to chew coarse raw foods properly.

However in humans, 3rd molars are the smallest molars in our mouths. When comparing to the likes of monkeys and gorillas, our modern diet is much softer than the coarse grains, nuts and insects that they would naturally eat. Because our food is much softer, we no longer rely on our 3rd molars to chew any coarse foods. Over time, this has resulted in them growing smaller, and for some people they don’t grow at all!

Another side effect of a softer diet is that our jaws simply don’t grow long enough to fit these once important teeth. This is why it’s becoming more common for them to be growing sideways, be impacted or not grow through at all. When the wisdom teeth don’t grow through, they’re still present but stuck underneath the bone or gum. In some cases, people may think that they didn’t grow them at all, but in actual fact they are hiding!

Because wisdom teeth can’t always be seen, people often don’t take action on removal until it becomes too painful. Why wait until you’re suffering? We think that it’s much better to tackle any issues as early as possible before they cause any unnecessary pain or discomfort.

 

Does everyone need their wisdom teeth removed?

No, not at all! There are some lucky people who’s wisdom teeth grow out nice and straight and are in a position that is easy to clean. For these people, they can keep their wisdom teeth in! To maintain happy and healthy wisdom teeth, they need to be brushed all the way to the back to keep them in tip top condition.

Our dentists will certainly tell you if you don’t need your wisdom teeth removed. We will also teach you how to clean your wisdom teeth properly so they don’t get problems in the future.

The best way to make the decision whether to keep your wisdom teeth or to remove them is with a dental examination to find out how they’re going. At Whitehorse Dental, we like to encourage this preventative approach to wisdom teeth rather than “waiting and seeing” how they go. We hate to see people struggle with preventable pain, so a quick dental exam will give you all the answers you need on your wisdom teeth.

Avoid pain. Take the preventative approach to wisdom teeth removal and contact Whitehorse Dental today.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This